Cdbg-dr Resilience Planning & Capacity Building Program: Round 2 Awards

May 5, 2015

An award for "Plan for Reach 8" to the Coal Creek Canyon Partnership for $201,000.

The Colorado Department of Local Affairs and the Colorado Recovery Office announced the recipients of Round Two of the Community Development Block Grant – Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) Resilience Planning Grant Program on April 3, 2015. Forty-one projects were funded with CDBG-DR Resilience Planning funds in 19 jurisdictions or organizations located in Boulder, Weld, Larimer, Jefferson, and El Paso Counties for a total of $7,170,173. In order to complete more work within the affected areas, the State of Colorado Energy and Mineral Impact Fund will also support an additional four projects that were submitted to the CDBG-DR program. These four projects within Larimer County bring the total grant awards to 45 planning or capacity-building projects and $7,679,907 in overall funding.

These grants will help support critical recovery planning efforts for the City of Boulder, Town of Estes Park, City of Evans, City of Longmont, Town of Lyons, City of Manitou Springs, Boulder County, El Paso County, Jefferson County, and Larimer County.  These funds will also support important work by watershed coalitions and their stakeholders along watersheds severely impacted by the floods of 2013 including the Big Thompson River, Coal Creek, Cache la Poudre River, Little Thompson River, Monument Creek, South Platte River, Fourmile Creek, Lefthand Creek, and St. Vrain Creek.  In addition, projects include studies mapping, and staffing assistance related to the Four Mile, Waldo Canyon, Black Forest, and High Park fires of 2012-2013.

Due to the need for improved mapping within the affected river drainages, the State is working to provide additional floodplain, debris flow, and erosion zone mapping efforts on waterways affected by the 2013 disaster. A bill is pending in the legislature that would map new floodplain boundaries along major drainages in Boulder, Jefferson, and Larimer Counties over the next year and will allow these communities to develop accurate floodplain maps for review and approval by the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

A summary of the Resilience Planning & Capacity Building CDBG-DR Round Two grant awards including the associated Energy/Mineral Impact funding is below:

Area Projects Funding
Boulder CountyCity of Boulder, Boulder County, Town of Lyons, City of Longmont, Rocky Mountain Climate Organization 24 $4,055,953
Larimer CountyLarimer County, Town of Estes Park, City of Loveland, Estes Valley Watershed Coalition, Big Thompson River Restoration Coalition, Little Thompson Watershed Restoration Coalition 10 CDBG-DR4 Energy Impact $1,673,030$509,734
Weld CountyCity of Evans, Middle South Platte River Alliance 2 $490,000
El Paso CountyCity of Manitou Springs, Black Forest Together, Upper Fountain Creek/Cheyenne Creek Coalition 4 $750,190
Jefferson CountyCoal Creek Canyon Watershed Coalition 1 $201,000
Total CDBG-DR 41 $7,170,173
Total Energy/Mineral Impact Fund 4 $509,734
Total Award 45 $7,697,907

The Resilience Planning & Capacity Building Grant Program is funded as part of the first and second CDBG-DR grant allocations to the State of Colorado from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Energy/Mineral Impact Assistance funds are derived from the state severance tax on energy and mineral production and the state share of royalties for production on federally-owned land.



No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post a comment.